Guitars and PJs

I seem to be permanently behind with things at the moment. I am slowly emerging from the remnants of my head cold, although I had to finish my gig a little early at Cafe Musique on Tuesday.

My four main guitars are now hanging nicely on the wall, thanks to my good friend Patrick Vercambre who knows his way around hammer drills and so forth. This has generated yet another clear-out episode. I have transferred a load of stuff that was in a cupboard under the roof tiles in the rafters, to various other hide-away holes; I now have a further bunch of stuff waiting to go for recycling. Ideally, I will get it to a charity when they are collecting in my area.

So, my piano practice took a dive during the head cold and I had hoped that I would sort that out today. However, other things took precedence. Firstly, I popped down to our local B&Q store to buy some packets of spring bulbs (I am a bit late but if I get them planted by the end of this month it should be ok). Then I drove to the Metro Centre (free parking at that mall) and set out to buy some warm stuff for the coming winter months. I bought a new dressing gown, some PJs and a fresh set of long thermal underwear. I feel sure that most stuff is not made to be as warm as it used to be. I think manufacturers assume we all live in houses with the central heating racked up and swan around indoors as if it were a summer’s day. I have a huge problem with feeling the cold nowadays; I think it is because I lost a large amount of weight over the course of last year (3 stone 10 lbs, in Old-English money).

Oh, yes, bloody B&Q refused to accept my circular pound coins as legal tender. So, I had to make a special trip to the bank and get them changed. Why the banks could not just withdraw the coins as they come back to them through the shops and so forth, I really do not know. I can tell you, B&Q put me in a really BAD mood and so I shall try to do any garden shopping elsewhere for the next few months. Actually, garden centres have to be avoided like the plague until next February. In England they are already kitted out with fireworks for Guy Fawkes night (5th November) and Xmas decorations. It is enough to make anyone sick – I mean it’s October! Actually, I think I might physically puke the next time I see a Santa’s Grotto. As I move through the years, I think I am becoming more and more like Victor Meldrew; Bah! Humbug!

So, this evening, instead of getting back into my piano practice I spent the whole time testing out 25 banks of 4 guitar effects per bank (that amounts to 100 in all) using my Gibson 335 Knock-Off. I found some very nice sounds, although not too many were suited either to my guitar playing or for accompanying my vocals. Still, I do think I have made some progress. I will double check this Behringer FX selection against my Tadcaster home-made guitar and my Mick McConway electro-acoustic – sometime tomorrow, unless I get distracted. Oh, did I tell you? I fixed the hum on my Washburn guitar yesterday. So I have placed that in an open D tuning and might try and find a couple of songs to do on slide guitar with it.

Well, I have a hundred and one things on my list of things to do. Still, I figure that eliminates boredom as a feature of one’s existential being. The trick, I suppose, is to manage it all without sliding over into the stress zone. On that note, I shall leave you to ponder. Speak to you later, my dear blogophiles.

Leave a Reply

