Cold: cough, cough, cough…

I felt very much under the weather yesterday with this ghastly cold that is going the rounds in England. I tried to sing a song earlier this morning and it was impossible. I have been to my local supermarket and picked up some more pills to deal with the symptoms (it being a virus they cannot provide a cure, of course) and I bought a packet of Jakemans’ Honey & Lemon Menthol sweets which seem to help a little.

I didn’t do much reading yesterday but I have generated a new set of random numbers for my 3rd Post-It bookmark. The experiment seems to be working fine. It does turn the reading into something of a problem-solving exercise. So far, it is probably not quite as enjoyable as the bland, passive way of reading that involves steady page-by-page progress. I have not been able to work out how it compares with reading novels that contain plenty of flash-backs.

I think, by the time I am able to sing again, I should be able to do a cover of Richard Thompson’s 1952 Vincent Black Lightening. I watched him playing it on You Tube (presumably a video recording) and noticed that he was playing it in open tuning. I definitely do NOT want to play my guitar in that style, so I guess my version won’t sound much like the original.

I felt so rough yesterday I did not play any piano at all. That is very unusual for me. I’m not sure about today. I think I will do some more work on the level-crossing sketch I am doing in pen & India ink. That has been going rather slowly (also due to the bloody head cold) and I would like to get it finished by the end of the week. Speak to you later, my dear blogophiles.

Leave a Reply

